In the middle of all the Downtown Athens stands the Michael Brothers Building, a beautiful living piece of history. The Michael Brothers Building was built in 1922 by M.G. and Simon Michael to replace their original building that burnt down in Jan. 25 1921. The original building was the tallest in town (5 stories) and was est. in 1882. The building housed the Michael Brothers Wholesale and retail Dry Goods Store. The new building is 55,000 square feet and was designed by Neel Reid (Atlanta’s most famous architect) and opened in 1922. The Sons of M G Michael operated their business until 1953, and then leased property to Davison-Paxton Company (Macy’s). They sold building to Mr. Loef and Mr. Blumberg in 1981 when Macy’s moved to the mall. The building was renamed Park Plaza and was converted to a multi-use building.
In February 2001, Nelson Properties purchased the building. Nelson Properties has continued the legacy the Michael Brothers began, by offering quality retail space, event space and office space to small businesses who want to be in the center of a thriving commerce. Located only one block from UGA, the Classic Center, the Clarke County Court House and City Hall the building now houses 25 small businesses that employ over 150 individuals.
The newest edition to the Michael Brothers Building is the Park Plaza Executive Offices. Located on the 4th floor of the building, this truly unique office environment allows businesses of all sizes to have the amenities of a large office without the expense. Each office includes a shared receptionist, conference room and break area.